The Enviroschools Foundation is a charitable trust that provides opportunities that empower children and young people to work in intergenerational ways to create healthy, peaceful and resilient communities.

The Enviroschools programme is participatory, locally relevant and responsive to change. It provides flexibility to meet the needs of children and young people, their schools and their communities.

Funded locally by the Clutha District Council since 2009, Enviroschools is a nationally facilitated programme which involves a commitment from the whole school and school community to the Enviro​​ principles.

The Programme fosters students and school staff into a sense of place, connection with, and action in, both the natural and built environment. It encourages exploring the history of the land and its people.

There are currently nine Enviroschools in our District: Balclutha Primary, Catlins Area, Clinton Primary, Clutha Valley Primary, Rosebank Primary, Tokoiti, Taieri Beach, Waitahuna and Waihola District Schools.


For further information on Enviroschools see  www.enviroschools.org.nz or contact our Waste Minimisation Officer on 0800 801 350.

Page reviewed: 21 Jul 2019 12:00pm