Youth Council

​About the Youth Council

The Clutha District Youth Council is made up of two representatives from each of the district's five secondary schools - Blue Mountain College (Tapanui), Catlins Area School (Owaka), Lawrence Area School, South Otago High School (Balclutha), Tokomairiro High School (Milton) - plus two young people from Telford (A Division of Southern Institute of Technology​​​), two young people from the workforce, and two Councillors.

The Youth Council is a standing committee of the full Council, which enables its views to be regularly heard at the full Council table. Objectives of the Youth Council are:

  • To encourage youth involvement in the planning and development of Council services.
  • To provide a youth representative to the Council on a range of issues covered by Council, as well as issues relating directly to youth.
  • To act as a consultative link between young people and Council.
  • To provide a forum where the views of young people are voiced and heard.

Page reviewed: 21 Jul 2019 7:30am