People urged to get nominations in before Friday


2019-08-12T16:48:00 Pacific/Auckland

Time is running out for those wanting to stand in the Clutha District Council local body elections.

Acting Chief Executive Jules Witt said while Council had received some nominations, there were still a number of wards that did not have enough nominations to fill the required vacancies.

“Nominations close this Friday (August 16) at midday but we urge people not to leave it to the last minute to get their nomination forms in as the information provided needs to be correct or it may not be accepted,” Mr Witt said.

He said anyone wishing to stand as an elected member must pay a deposit of $200 and be nominated by two people enrolled in the district or ward you intend to stand for.

“Now’s your chance to put your hand up and be part of shaping the future of the Clutha District.

“Anyone over the age of 18 can stand as long as they are a New Zealand citizen and enrolled on the parliamentary electoral roll, “ Mr Witt said.

You can pick up nomination papers at Council’s Rosebank office, service centre, or go online to Council’s website

Click on the below link to see the nominations received so far for the Clutha District Council 2019 Triennial Elections.

Also if you live in Clutha and pay rates for a property in another area you may be entitled to vote in both areas.

Mr Witt said to do this you will need to enrol as a non-residential ratepayer elector and if you have not received these forms please contact the Council relating to the property that you pay rates on.

These will also need to be returned to an Electoral Officer by August 16.

“If you don’t do this, the only way you can vote is by a special vote.”

Voting documents will be sent out from 20 September 2019 and must be received by the electoral officer before midday on Election Day, Saturday 12 October 2019.

For further information on standing as a candidate or enrolling to vote visit Council's website or or contact Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske on 0800 922 822 or Deputy Electoral Officer Karen Piercy on 0800 801 350.


Page reviewed: 12 Aug 2019 4:48pm