Trustpower Community Award winners announced


2018-10-25T09:34:00 Pacific/Auckland

The Owaka Cavalcade Host Town Committee has taken top honours at Clutha District’s biggest annual celebration of volunteers, the Trustpower Community Awards.

Voluntary groups from Dunedin and the Clutha District gathered with representatives from Trustpower, Dunedin City Council, Clutha District Council, and the community at the Toitū Otago Settlers Museum to hear how 18 groups and six young people are making an impact in their communities.

Trustpower Community and Communications Advisor Alice Boyd says the Owaka Cavalcade Host Town Committee is a group of passionate locals who brought their community together to stage an incredibly successful event.

"As host town for the 26th Goldfields Cavalcade, the Owaka Host Town Committee volunteers pulled together all the local community groups to stage the welcoming event - one of the biggest events Owaka has ever seen."

"Schools made the trail signs, other groups took care of the catering, the local Lions and rugby clubs erected the marquee which the Owaka Florist Club then decorated, Catlins Search & Rescue marshalled the car parking, the Yellow Eyed Penguin Trust & Catlins Historical Society organised tours, the Owaka Playcentre provided face painting, the Balclutha Pipe Band led the trails in the Grand Parade, and the Clutha Country Music Club provided entertainment throughout the day."

"The end result was Owaka showcasing the best of Catlins hospitality, and over $30,000 going back into the community for all of the groups involved."

For winning the Supreme Award, the Owaka Cavalcade Host Town Committee received a framed certificate, a trophy, and $2,000 prize money.

The group will go on to represent Clutha at the Trustpower National Community Awards, when volunteers from 26 regions from around New Zealand gather in Tauranga next March.

It’s the first time Dunedin and the Clutha District have celebrated together at a single awards function.

Other winners at tonight’s Trustpower Community Awards for Dunedin and the Clutha District were:

  • Youth Community Spirit
  • Finalist - Rosa Rhiannon Miles-Seeley
  • Finalist - Abbey Mills Finalist - Xulu Lin Finalist - Anna Jordan Winner Dunedin - George Sabonadière Winner Clutha District - Bronson Blackbourn Trustpower Community Awards Finalists Beats in the Streets Catlins Promotions Corstorphine Community Hub Milton Area Promotions Inc.
  • Ignite Consultants
  • Milton Scouts
  • Rotary Club of Dunedin Inc.
  • Owaka Going Forward
  • Trustpower Community Awards Winners
  • Balclutha Playcentre
  • Dunedin Street Art Charitable Trust
  • Buddy Programme South Otago
  • Life Matters Suicide Prevention Trust
  • Kaitangata Car Show & Run
  • Pregnancy Help Dunedin
  • Lawrence Lions Club
  • Servants Health Centre
  • Supreme Winner - Dunedin
  • The Wildlife Hospital Trust
  • Supreme Winner - Clutha District
  • The Owaka Cavalcade Host Town Committee Inc.
Page reviewed: 25 Oct 2018 9:34am