Council decides to change ward and board names


2018-09-14T06:19:00 Pacific/Auckland

Council met on September 6 to decide whether to adopt a final proposal for the review of representation arrangements for the 2019 and 2022 triennial elections.

Public notice of the final proposal was made on 12 September 2018. Following the public notice, there is a further one-month appeal/objection period to 12 October 2018.

Council debated the merits of either retaining or changing the names of the Lawrence-Tuapeka Community Board and Lawrence-Tuapeka Ward to the Tuapeka Community Board and Tuapeka Ward.

The name change was included in the initial proposal which was open for submissions in July.

Five submissions were received and Council voted 6-3 in favour of the initial proposal (with two abstaining).

The decision also included: Retaining 14 councillors plus the mayor to provide effective representation to residents and ratepayers spread across our large district.

The district would remain divided into the following eight wards:

  • Balclutha Ward (four councillors)
  • Bruce Ward (three councillors)
  • Catlins Ward (one councillor)
  • Clinton Ward (one councillor)
  • Clutha Valley Ward (one councillor)
  • Kaitangata-Matau Ward (one councillor)
  • Tuapeka Ward (one councillor)
  • West Otago Ward (two councillors).

The two current community boards will remain, with the West Otago Community Board consisting of six members plus two appointed ward councillors and the Tuapeka Community Board with six members plus one appointed ward councillor.

There were also some minor ward boundary changes to better reflect fairer representation and communities of interest with Kaka Point moving from the Balclutha Ward to the Catlins Ward, Pukekoma and Hillend moved from the Bruce Ward to the Clutha Valley Ward and Round Hill and Manuka Creek moving from the Bruce Ward to the Tuapeka Ward.

Every six years councils are required to review their representation arrangements and the Clutha District Council had to do this before the 2019 local body elections.

Page reviewed: 14 Sep 2018 6:19am