Community Boards

​​​​​​​​The Clutha District Council currently has two community boards - the West Otago Community Board and the Lawrence-Tuapeka Comm​​unity Board.

The role of the community board is to;

  • Represent and act as an advocate for the interests of their community.
  • Consider and report on any matter referred to it by Council and any issues of interest or concern to the Community Board.
  • Make an annual submission to Council on expenditure in the community.
  • Maintain an overview of services provided by Council within the community
  • Communicate with community organisations and special interest groups in the community.
  • Undertake any other responsibilities delegated to it by Council.

The boards meet on a six weekly basis. You can read their agendas on our agendas page.

Please visit our newsletters page to see the latest Community Board newsletters.

West Otago Community Board

This board represents the West Otago ward of Council and has its base at the Tapanui Community Service Centre. Meetings are held in the West Otago Community centre meeting room, located adjacent to the Tapanui Community Service Centre on Suffolk Street in Tapanui.

The Community Board members for 2016-2019 are;

  • Barbara Hanna (Chair) M: 0272 595 785 P: 03 204 8616
  • Councillor John Herbert
  • Councillor Michelle Kennedy
  • Anthony Robertson
  • Bruce Robertson
  • Linda Roulston
  • Suzanne Wink
  • Cecil Crawford

Lawrence/Tuapeka Community Board

This board represents the Lawrence/Tuapeka ward of the Council and has its base at the Lawrence Service Centre. Meetings are held in the board room at the Lawrence Service Centre, located on Peel Street, Lawrence.

The Community Board members for 2016-2019 are;

  • Mel Foster (Acting Chair) M: 027 232 9963 E:​ 
  • Councillor Mel Foster
  • Geoff Davidson
  • Matt Little​
  • Lindy Ch​innery​
Page reviewed: 29 Jan 2020 11:55am