Winners of the 2015 TrustPower Clutha District Community Awards


23 September 2015


Category Winners:


Heritage and Environment

Runner Up: West Otago Remembers

Winner: Owaka Lions Club


Health and Well Being

Runner-Up: Operation Sugar

Winner: West Otago Health Trust


Arts and Culture

Runner-up: West Otago Art and Craft Exhibition

Winner: Knit and Yarn


Sport and Leisure

Runner Up: Stepsisters Marching Group

Winner: Kaitangata Black Gold BMX


Education and Child/Youth Development

Runner Up:  South Otago Family Works Buddy  Programme

Winner: Kaitangata Car Show and Run


Supreme Winner

West Otago Health Trust



The Clutha District Council individual awards for volunteering were also presented in conjunction with the Trustpower Community Awards tonight. Lawrence resident Barbara Wilson was recognised for her unfailing and annual commitment to the RSA and ANZAC day celebrations, fellow local Jean Goodlet was nominated for her desire to keep Lawrence on the map, Balclutha’s Doug Henderson was dubbed Kaka Point’s most dedicated surf life saver and Judy Nicol, also from Balclutha, was celebrated for a decade of work with the Special Olympics.

Four of the five secondary schools from Clutha also put up nominees to participate in the Trustpower Youth Community Spirit Award process. Year 13 students Hayley Witt from South Otago High, Esther McLay from Catlins Area School, Terri Thomas from Tokomairiro High and Dion Falconer from Blue Mountain College, who was the winner.




Entries open for 2015 TrustPower Clutha District Community Awards


Entries for the Trustpower Clutha District Community Awards open Monday 25 May 2015.


Run in partnership with the Clutha District Council and set up as an opportunity to recognise and thank local voluntary groups and their contributions to the community, anyone can enter a voluntary group or organisation in the Trustpower Clutha District Community Awards, including voluntary groups themselves.


Locals will have until 5pm on Friday 24 July to get entries in for this year's Trustpower Clutha District Community Awards. Entry Forms will be available from Council offices or service centres or can be completed online at


Entry Forms will also be able to be received by calling Arielle Monk on 0800 87 11 11 extension 4851.


The awards cover five categories; Heritage and Environment, Health and Wellbeing, Arts and Culture, Sport and Leisure, and Education and Child/Youth Development.


Category winners receive $500, runners-up receive $250 and the Supreme Winner will take home $1,500 and an all-expenses paid trip for two representatives to the 2015 Trustpower National Community Awards.


Last year's Trustpower Clutha District Community Awards Supreme Winner was Clutha Gold Trail Trust.


Guidelines and application form for indivdual entries

Guidelines and application form for group entries



2014 TrustPower Clutha District Community Awards


Clutha Gold Trail was the overall winner at the TrustPower Clutha District Community Awards 2014, which were held on Monday 15 September. There was a total of 32 outstanding voluntary groups entered for this year's Clutha District Community Awards.

Tyler Ford was the winner of the TrustPower Clutha District Youth Community Spirit Award, recognising his passion for his school and community.


A full list of all the winners from the TrustPower Clutha District Community Awards is below:


Heritage and Environment

Winner: South Otago Forest & Bird

Runner-Up: Tuapeka Vintage Club


Health and Well Being

Winner: Clutha Valley Rural Neighbourhood Support

Runner-Up: Cancer Society Rural Volunteers


Arts and Culture

Winner: Clutha District Settlement Support Group

Runner-Up: South Otago A&P Society


Sport and Leisure

Winner: Otago Shearing and Woolhandling Committee

Runner- up: Milton Karate Club


Education and Child/Youth Development

Winner: Kaitangata Car Show and Run

Runner-Up: Balclutha Parents Centre


Supreme Winner

Clutha Gold Trail Trust


Youth Spirit

Winner: Tyler Ford


Civic Awards for Individuals

Bill and Sharon Bazely

John Burgess

Ian 'Blue' Fletcher

Marie Kean



South Otago Search and Rescue

St John Clutha Area




Quick Navigation


Mayor & Councillors

Council Staff

Community Boards

Meeting Dates

Meeting Agendas

Job Vacancies

Elections Information


Youth Council


Funding Schemes

Community Development

Roading Services

Water Services

Rubbish and Recycling

Community Services/Facilities

Planning & Environment

Emergency Services

Online Services

Tuapeka Ferry


Media Releases

Council Newsletter

Public Notices


Current Projects

Road/bridge closures

Events Diary


District Plan

Long Term Plan

Annual Plan

Annual Report

Application Forms

Bylaws and Key Policies

Information Brochures

Other key documents


About Clutha

Community Directory

Community Development

Clutha Photo Galleries

TrustPower Awards

Events Diary


Search the Site

Contact Us

Site Map A-Z


Clutha District Council, 1 Rosebank Tce, PO Box 25, Balclutha 9240

P: 0800 801 350 | F: 03 418 3185 | E:

Some of this website may be subject to copyright - Clutha District Council 2012